Anchorage Table Tennis Club News

The 2002 Alaska Open Table Tennis Championship is set for Sunday March 10, 2002 at Inlet View Elementary School 1219 N Street (13th & N Street) in downtown Anchorage. Enter today, entry deadline Friday March 8, 2002 at 6:00 PM. Spectators are welcome with free admission! Click here for an Entry Form or Press Release (Adobe Acrobat required).

Need Adobe Acrobat reader? Click here:

FREE Rules of the Game and Basic Stroke’s Clinic is Thursday March 7, 2002 from 8:00PM to 9:30 PM at API Gym, 2900 Providence Dr. This will feature questions and answers about the New rules now in effect and demonstrations on the basic strokes of Table Tennis. Bring your racket and gym clothes. Rackets and balls available to all who participate. Sign up at regular club practices. Reservations required! Call Karl Augestad to reserve your spot. Seating is limited. Open to members and non-club members. Free clinic, no charge, but donations are accepted. More rules:

Volunteers are needed for the Alaska Open Tournament on March 10th 2002. A volunteers meeting will be held on Tuesday March 5, 2002 from 8:00 PM to 9:30 PM at API Gym, 2900 Providence Dr. WE NEED VOLUNTEERS, no experience or knowledge of table tennis required. Duties will include scorekeepers, runners, control desk attendees and table movers. Call Karl Augestad for more details. VOLUNTEERS PLEASE ATTEND.

Open table tennis play is held weekly from October to May each Tuesday and Thursday from 8:00 PM to 11:00 PM at API Gym 2900 Providence Drive. (Just west of Providence hospital on the south side of Providence Drive) cost $4.00 adults, $2.00 juniors 17 years & under. All skills and ages welcome.

For further information contact: Karl Augestad (ATT club president and tournament director) at (907)277-8115 days or (907)349-4812 evenings. E-mail: The Anchorage Open Tournament final results held January 27, 2002 are listed below.

2002 Anchorage Table Tennis Tournament Sunday January 27, 2002


Open Championship Singles

1. Karl Augestad
2. Albin Czyz
3. Boyd Bennett
3. Paul Richards

Class B Singles (under 1700 USATT level rating)

1. Albin Czyz
2. Paul Richards
3. Todd Woodhouse
3. Mark Mattingley

Class C Singles (under 1200 USATT level rating)

1. Chris Moss
2. Matt Fosket
3. Jorge Andrade
4. Mike Mann
5. Gretchen Wehmhoff

Senior Singles (40 years & over)

1. Michael Ehlers
2. Chris Moss
3. Boyd Bennett
3. Albin Czyz

Veteran Singles (50 years & over)

1. Michael Ehlers
2. Kenji Kusano
3. Byron Samson
3. Boyd Bennett

Under 11 years Singles

1. Brent Woodhouse
2. Elizabeth Cantu

Under 15 years Singles

1. Andrew Roy
2. Brent Woodhouse
3. Kyla Zenan
4. Christopher Brown

Under 17 years Singles

1. Andrew Roy
2. Jorge Andrade
3. Matt Fosket
4. Brent Woodhouse
5. Kyla Zenan

Class B Doubles

1. Michael Ehlers/Chris Moss
2. Gretchen Wehmhoff/Albin Czyz
3. Matt Fosket/Mark Mattingley

Open Championship Doubles

1. Karl Augestad/Paul Richards
2. Michael Ehlers/Todd Woodhouse
3. Matt Fosket/Kenji Kusano
4. Albin Czyz/Byron Sansom